Ngorongoro.

We left Arusha at around 11am and reached Ngorongoro at 3pm. As we turned for the &Beyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge, I didn’t really know what to expect. It was the first time I hadn’t even looked up the place online leaving it all up to As better judgement.

As we entered the premises I spotted a series of chalets modelled to look like masai huts set in a semi circle around what I assumed was the rim of the crater. It’s only once we got off and walked towards the lobby that I had to brace myself for the view that awaited. Right in front of us was the crater spread out like a magazine center page, in all its glory, the afternoon sun lighting up the Lake in the center. The impact of the image took me aback for a second. I don’t think I will be able to forget it for years to come. The only other place that had a similar impact on me was Lake Saiful Malook in Northern Pakistan. There was something surreal about it all, almost magical.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. lostandfound says:

    love it !! you write so well! wow

    Like

    1. Still work in progress had to save it half way through 😬

      Like

Leave a Reply

